skip to primary navigationskip to content

New Head of School of Technology

Professor John Dennis has been appointed the Head of School of Technology from 1 December 2018. Professor Dennis was previously the Head of Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology (CEB) and has overseen significant initiatives in the Department, including the move of the Department from 2 main sites to the new building at West Cambridge which has resulted in synergies at many levels. For information on Professor Dennis, see

Welcome to Cambridge School of Technology

The term 'School' in Cambridge usually indicates an administrative grouping of related departments. The School of Technology is one of six Schools, each of which has an elected supervisory body. The Council of the School, comprising representatives of the constituent faculties and departments in each School. The Council acts as a co-ordinating organisation for its group of departments and filters much academic business before its transmission to the General Board. The mission of the School of Technology is to provide a focus and framework for its constituent departments to formulate and express views pertinent to technology, methods and processes, both within and without the University, recognising that technology has its own priorities and its own criteria for success: above all, technology departments recognise a duty to influence and be influenced by society at large and to work towards the creation of wealth and an improved quality of life. Institutions within the School are: the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, the Department of Computer Science and Technology (also known as the Computer Laboratory), the Department of Engineering, Judge Business School and the Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership.

Read more

Head of School Newsletter

For an interesting explanation of the purpose of the School, please click on the "Read More" button below for the Autumn 2016 Head of School Newsletter.

Read more